IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeZ- ARCHIVED CATEGORIES - DO NOT USEDebate08Belmont Announces Honorary Host Committee for Town Hall Presidential Debate

Belmont Announces Honorary Host Committee for Town Hall Presidential Debate

Belmont University announced today the formation of the Honorary Host Committee for the 2008 Town Hall Presidential Debate made up of distinguished individuals with national, state and local stature. Marty Dickens, chairman of the Belmont Board of Trustees and retired president of AT&T, serves as chair of the honorary host committee and Tennessee Governor Phil Bredesen, Nashville Mayor Karl Dean and Chairman of Curb Records Mike Curb are the committee’s honorary chairs.
DebateLogo_Color.jpg“We are grateful and humbled by the outpouring of support so many distinguished Nashvillians and Tennesseans have shown to Belmont University as we prepare for our role as host site of the 2008 Town Hall Presidential Debate in October,” Dickens said. “While this is certainly a momentous occasion for Belmont, it is the first presidential debate to be held in the state of Tennessee and something all Tennesseans can be proud of.”
Members of the committee include former and current Tennessee and United States Senators and Congressmen, business leaders, music industry executives, recording artists and philanthropists. (Click the “more” button below for a complete list of the Honorary Host Committee members.)
“This diverse, talented group of people represents the very best of all that Tennessee has to offer and exemplifies the volunteer spirit of our state,” Belmont President Dr. Bob Fisher said. “I am grateful to Marty for his leadership in organizing this respected committee. Their roles as committed civic and community activists have, in many cases, opened doors to make the 2008 Town Hall Presidential Debate at Belmont possible. Lending their name and support to this historical event for Belmont, Nashville and Tennessee ensures that the spotlight shining on all of us that night will last long after the debate is over.”
The Honorary Host Committee reflects Belmont’s commitment to ensuring the 2008 Town Hall Presidential Debate is memorable for Belmont students, as well as residents of Nashville and the State of Tennessee. The university has dedicated the 2008-09 academic year to celebrating the themes of the American political process and democracy. More than 50 programs are lined up for Belmont students and the community, including guest speakers such as documentary filmmaker Ken Burns and New York Times bestselling author David McCullough. Other activities include theatre and music productions celebrating the freedom of expression and city-wide voter registration drives and events for college students throughout Nashville to engage them in what will surely be an historical presidential election.
Visit for the latest updates and news surrounding the 2008 Town Hall Presidential Debate.

2008 Town Hall Presidential Debate Honorary Host Committee
Marty Dickens, Chair
Honorary Chairs
The Honorable Phil Bredesen, Governor, State of Tennessee
The Honorable Karl Dean, Mayor, City of Nashville
The Honorable Mike Curb, Chairman of Curb Records
Honorary Committee Members
Kent Adams, President, Caterpillar Financial Services
Senator Lamar Alexander
Senator Howard Baker
Lee Barfield, Partner, Bass, Berry & Sims
Lee Beaman, Chairman, Beaman Automotive Group
Congressman Marsha Blackburn
Jack Bovender, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Hospital Corporation of America
T. B. Boyd, Chairman, R. H. Boyd Company
Kix Brooks, Recording Artist
Congressman Jim Cooper
Senator Bob Corker
Richard W. Dreiling, Chief Executive Officer, Dollar General
Governor Winfield Dunn
Metro Councilman Keith Durbin
J. D. Elliott, President, The Memorial Foundation
Mark Ezell, Chief Executive Officer, Purity Dairies
Darrell Freeman, Chairman, Nashville Chamber of Commerce
Senator Bill Frist
Tommy Frist, Business Leader
Rick Frost, Chief Executive Officer, Louisiana-Pacific Corporation (LP)
Joe Galante, Chairman, RCA Label Group
Tammy Genovese, Chief Executive Officer, Country Music Association
Vince Gill, Recording Artist
State Representative Brenda Gilmore
Amy Grant, Recording Artist
Randy Goodman, President, Country Music Association Board
The Honorable Al Gore
Cordia Harrington, Chief Manager, Tennessee Bun Company
State Senator Douglas Henry
Martha Ingram, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ingram Industries
Gordon Inman, Business Leader
Ellen Lehman, President, The Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee
Governor Ned McWherter
R. Clayton McWhorter, Founder and Chairman, Clayton Associates
Tom Negri, General Manager, Loews Hotels
Charles Overby, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The Freedom Forum
Colin Reed, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Gaylord Entertainment
Barbara Massey Rogers, Philanthropist
Joe Russell, Chairman, Elan-Polo
Ralph Schulz, Chief Executive Officer, Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce
John Seigenthaler, Chairman, The First Amendment Center
Butch Spyridon, Chief Executive Officer, Nashville Convention and Business Bureau
Deborah Tate, Business Leader
Byron Trauger, Partner, Trauger & Tuke
Cal Turner, Chairman, Cal Turner Family Foundation
Ted Welch, Business Leader
Michael A. Woodhouse, Chief Executive Officer, CBRL Group, Inc (Cracker Barrel)
Nick Zeppos, Chancellor, Vanderbilt University
…..….Committee in Formation (5/28/08)

Related Articles