IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeDevelopmentTennessee Health Care Hall of Fame Announces 2018 Inductees

Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame Announces 2018 Inductees

The Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame announced the seven health care professionals selected as this year’s inductee class at a luncheon on Belmont University’s campus today. With a mission to honor men and women who have made significant and lasting contributions to the health and health care industries, the Hall of Fame was created in 2015 by Belmont University, the McWhorter Society and the Nashville Health Care Council, a founding partner. The seven honorees will be inducted at a ceremony in October.

The nomination process began in January and was open to practitioners, executives, entrepreneurs, mentors, teachers, scientists, researchers, innovators or any person with a connection to the health or health care field who:

  • was born, lived or worked in Tennessee,
  • made a significant impact and lasting contribution to health care at the local, state, national or international level,
  • exhibits the highest ethical and professional character, and
  • serves as an outstanding role model in their community.

President of the Nashville Health Care Council Hayley Hovious said, “The Nashville Health Care Council is honored to be a Founding Partner of The Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame, endorsing and supporting this impressive group of inductees. With individuals from all across Tennessee who have made a significant impact on their communities through their work as leaders, politicians, practitioners, scientists, philanthropists and innovators, the Hall of Fame is honored to induct such a deserving group of health care heroes.”

Among the nearly 40 highly qualified nominees, inductees were chosen by a Selection Committee made up of health and health care leaders from across the state. Selected inductees represent some of Tennessee’s greatest health and health care pioneers, leaders and innovators.

The 2018 inductees include:

  • Monroe Carell, Jr.: Former CEO of Nashville-based Central Parking Corporation; Prominent philanthropist who led efforts to fund the Monroe Carell, Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt
  • Carol Etherington: Initiated Victim Intervention for the Davidson County Police Department; Established coalitions that led to the founding of the Nashville Prevention Partnership and volunteer mental health pools for the Red Cross; Current Chair of the Metro Nashville Board of Health & Associate Professor of Nursing, Emerita, at Vanderbilt Institute for Global Health
  • John Henry Hale & Millie Hale: Brave and innovative practitioners who paved the way for justice and equality; Opened their home to become the Millie E. Hale Hospital when African Americans couldn’t be treated at ‘white’ institutions; Created a holistic community center; Dr. Hale was Professor of Clinical Medicine and Surgery at Meharry; Millie Hale created a training center for nurses across the South
  • Lynn Massingale: Known as a major influencer on emergency medicine, nationwide; Founded TeamHealth and served as CEO (1979-2009) and now Chairman; Was named a Hero of Emergency Medicine by the American College of Emergency Physicians and received the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award; Previous EMS Medical Director of Tennessee
  • William Schaffner: Professor of Preventive Medicine, Department of Health Policy and Professor of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine; Nation’s pioneer of rigorous infection control in hospitals; His Nashville standard became the standard of excellence nationwide; National leader on adult immunizations; Served as President of the National Foundation for Infectious Disease and is now Medical Director; Longest serving member of the CDC’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices;
  • Matthew Walker, Sr.: Founded the Matthew Walker Comprehensive Health Center, Inc.; Was one of the first African Americans voted into the Nashville Academy of Medicine; Credited for training half of the African Americans in the US at the time of his death; Served as a Professor at Meharry for four decades; First African American Fellow of the American College of Surgeons

Belmont’s President Dr. Bob Fisher said, “I am grateful for Belmont’s placement in Tennessee—a state widely recognized as a central hub for health care in the US. With Nashville at the helm, our community continues to see many individuals and organizations take significant strides to shape and advance the industry. Meanwhile, Belmont University continues to play its role in the education of future health care innovators, practitioners, researchers and more—those who will become the next generation of Hall of Famers. The induction of this year’s class will continue to inspire the students who fill our campus, while further promoting our state’s success as the nation’s premiere health care hub.”

Since its creation, the Hall of Fame has previously inducted 20 members including Jack Bovender, Dr. Dorothy Lavinia Brown, Dr. Stanley Cohen, Dr. Colleen Conway-Welch, Dr. Thomas Frist, Jr., Dr. Thomas Frist, Sr., Dr. William H. Frist, Dr. Henry Foster, Dr. Ernest Goodpasture, Joel Gordon, Dr. Frank Groner, Dr. Harry Jacobson, Jack C. Massey, R. Clayton McWhorter, Dr. Stanford Moore, Dr. Donald Pinkel, Dr. David Satcher, Dr. Mildred Stahlman, Dr. Paul Stanton and Danny Thomas.

In addition to announcing this year’s inductees, the luncheon today also honored Governor Winfield Dunn with the 2018 McWhorter Society Distinguished Service Award, a recognition established to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to the health and health care related academic programs at Belmont University and whose life work serves as a powerful example for students.

Related Articles