IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeArts & CultureCollege of Entertainment and Music BusinessSony/ATV’s Troy Tomlinson Honored With Belmont’s 2016 Robert E. Mulloy Award...

Sony/ATV’s Troy Tomlinson Honored With Belmont’s 2016 Robert E. Mulloy Award of Excellence

Veteran music publisher and industry executive, Troy Tomlinson, was presented the 2016 Robert E. Mulloy Award of Excellence from Belmont University’s Mike Curb College of Entertainment & Music Business on Tuesday, April 26. The event was held at Belmont University’s Wedgewood Academic Center and was attended by Tomlinson’s industry peers, songwriters, Belmont faculty, friends and family. Curb College Dean Doug Howard, pictured above (right) with Tomlinson (left), presided over the event.

Dean Howard commented, “Troy has worked with an unmatchable list of legendary songwriters, recording artists and music executives throughout his three decade career on Nashville’s Music Row. His rise to the top is a product of hard work, great musical instincts and his universal reputation for serving the business community with honesty and integrity.”

Longtime music executive, Jerry Bradley, and Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame songwriter, Tom Douglas, both shared stories related to Tomlinson’s career and their experiences with him. Also included were video tributes by a number of Tomlinson’s songwriters including Taylor Swift, Kenny Chesney, Luke Bryan, Brett Eldredge and Cole Swindell. Tomlinson accepted the award by paying tribute to his many mentors from the past 30 years.

Tomlinson remarked, “Bob Mulloy loved songwriters, artists, musicians, engineers, producers and Belmont University. To receive an award named for him brings me great pleasure. I appreciate Dr. Fisher, Dean Howard and the entire Belmont team for their desire to equip and prepare young people for careers in the entertainment industry. Nashville is a better music center because of Belmont’s presence here.”

Tomlinson is the president/CEO of Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville. He serves as the chairman of the Tennessee Entertainment Commission and is on the boards of the Country Music Association, Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation, Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, Music City Music Council and the Belmont University Board of Trustees.

Past recipients of the Robert E. Mulloy Award of Excellence include Gary Overton, Donna Hilley, the International Entertainment Buyers Association, Vince Gill, Mike Curb, Clair Audio and Bandit Lites.

Related Articles