IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeAchieversSchool of Science Students Win Awards at TAS Annual Meeting

School of Science Students Win Awards at TAS Annual Meeting

Belmont’s School of Sciences hosted this year’s Tennessee Academy of Science (TAS) Middle Division Collegiate Annual Meeting on April 6.  Dr. Duane Hatch, assistant professor of chemistry, coordinated the event. There were 40 undergraduate presenters from Belmont, Tennessee State University, Fisk University and Austin Peay State University.  There were seven different sessions including chemistry, zoology, cellular/microbiology, botany/ecology, engineering/computer science, mathematics and psychology.

The following Belmont students won awards:
Math: Marcella Noorman, 1st place
Cellular/Microbiology: Fatin Jweinat, 1st place; Lacey Dunkley, 2nd place 
Zoology: Lauren Land, 1st place; Breanna Poore, 2nd place; Anna Beth Jones, 3rd place      
Botany/Ecology: Parth Majmudar, 1st place; Jessica Braden, 2nd place; Rachel Chandler, 3rd place      

Several School of Science faculty served as judges/moderators – from Biology, Darlene Panvini, John Niedzwiecki, Chris Barton, Steve Murphree, Robert Grammer, and Roger Jackson; from Chemistry & Physics, Davon Ferrara and Justin Stace; from Mathematics & Computer Science, Danny Biles; from Psychological Science, Linda Jones.

The Tennessee Academy of Science seeks to promote scientific research and the diffusion of knowledge concerning science; to secure communication between persons engaged in scientific work, especially in Tennessee; to assist by investigation and discussion in developing and making known the material, educational, and other resource and riches of the state; to arrange and prepare for publication such reports of investigations and discussions as they further the aims and objectives of the Academy.

Related Articles