IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeAchieversPT Scholarship Established to Honor Dr. David G. Greathouse

PT Scholarship Established to Honor Dr. David G. Greathouse

The inaugural award of the David G. Greathouse Physical Therapy Scholarship occurred during the 2010-11 academic year. The $1900 scholarship was awarded to Ashley Campbell, a third-year student in the School of Physical Therapy. The award is designated for a third-year PT student who demonstrates leadership, scholarship and exemplary clinical performance within the program and who has a minimum grade point average of 3.7.
From 1996-2005, Dr. Greathouse served as the founding chair and associate dean of the Belmont University School of Physical Therapy. During this time, he was also an adjunct professor in the Department of Cell and Developmental Biology at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. Currently, Dr. Greathouse is the Director of Clinical Electrophysiology Services at Texas Physical Therapy Specialists in New Braunfels, TX. He holds a BA in biology and physical education from Marshall University, a Certificate in Physical Therapy from the D.T. Watson School of Physiatrics and a MS (Education/Physical Therapy) and PhD (Anatomy) from the University of Kentucky. Dr. Greathouse has published over 45 manuscripts and 7 book chapters/monologues and has given over 100 professional presentations. He was named a Catherine Worthingham Fellow of the APTA in 2006, the organization’s most prestigious recognition.
As she nears graduation in August, Ashley commented on her award: “I am both honored and thankful to be the first recipient of the David G. Greathouse scholarship. To be recognized and associated with a luminary in our profession and of course the founding Chair of Belmont’s PT program, is a privilege that I will not soon forget. My greatest thanks go out to all that contributed to this award.”
The deadline for submitting an application letter for the scholarship is in May each year. A new scholarship recipient will be announced in August.

Related Articles