IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeAchieversGreg Pillon, Communications, Named 2018 Gabhart Award Recipient

Greg Pillon, Communications, Named 2018 Gabhart Award Recipient

Director of Communications and long-time Belmont employee Greg Pillon was named as the 2018 Gabhart Award Recipient at Belmont’s annual Staff Christmas Breakfast, held on Thursday, December 6 in the Maddox Grand Atrium. Named in honor of the late Dr. Herbert C. Gabhart, who served Belmont selflessly for 50 years as President and Chancellor, the Gabhart Award is the highest honor presented to a staff person and honors a member of the Belmont community who demonstrates significant achievements, commitment and service to the University.

For the last 18 years, Pillon has served Belmont in the Office of Communications where he oversees the office’s operations, including the Copy Center. Responsible for all internal and external communications, media relations, crisis communications and publications, Pillon manages the Office of Communication’s strategy and direction.

Thanks to his tenure on campus, Pillon had the chance to know Dr. Gabhart while he was at Belmont, making his receipt of the award that much more special. “Receiving an award that bears Dr. Gabhart’s name is an amazing honor,” Pillon said. “I couldn’t be more thankful for this honor.”

Looking back over his time on campus, it’s the relationships he’s made at Belmont that have kept him here for nearly two decades. “It’s the special people I’ve met here that make this place especially meaningful,” he said. “Belmont provides us all with the unique opportunity to work in a caring, Christian environment that allows us to learn, serve and impact the lives of our students. What could be better than that?”

This year’s Gabhart Finalists also included Steve Barrick, Athletics and Patsy Peach, Social Work. Past Gabhart Award winners include Don Purdy, Betty Wiseman, Sarah Cates, Gary Hunter, Joan Eakin, Bonnie Wagonfield and Anthony Donovan.

Related Articles