IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeAdministrationBelmont University Establishes Office of Hope, Unity and Belonging 

Belmont University Establishes Office of Hope, Unity and Belonging 

Belmont University has announced the establishment of the Office of Hope, Unity and Belonging (The HUB). The formation of this new department reflects Belmont’s momentum and commitment to Pathway four of the strategic visioning process for 2030 set by the University’s president Dr. Greg Jones: Embracing Hope and Inclusive Excellence.  

The HUB will serve as a centralized office dedicated to diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging initiatives, carrying out the institution’s desire for all community members to experience a meaningful and authentic sense of connection.  

“This is a significant step forward in our efforts to better serve our community and create a place where all people can thrive,” said Belmont President Dr. Greg Jones. “The HUB will be responsible for managing all efforts related to Title IX compliance and prevention, as well as all non-discrimination and equity work (Titles VI, VII and IX) including prevention, protection and accountability.” 

Led by Executive Vice President and Chief of Staff Susan West, the Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging Task Force was given the directive last spring to conduct an examination of Belmont and offer recommendations that would serve in moving the University toward the collective goal of embracing hope and inclusive excellence. 

With University leadership recognizing the need to establish a centralized office staffed by full-time professionals fully dedicated to this most important work, alongside a new Vice President of Hope, Unity and Belonging who will lead and oversee the centralized office the HUB team will include Carly Elliott, Director of Institutional Equity & Title IX Coordinator, as well as a new Equity Compliance Specialist. 

A search for the new VP of Hope, Unity and Belonging will begin immediately. The search committee consists of the following members: Susan West as Chair, Tamika Williams in the position of Vice Chair, Olivia Bahemuka, Dennis Chen, Leslie Lenser, Karen Lewis, Antionedra Maupin, Amber Payne and Renee Schultz. 

Related Articles