IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

Belmont Presents Best of the Best 2009

April 25 event to honor longtime Music City executive Donna Hilley
tribute_20.pngOn Sat., April 25, the Mike Curb College of Entertainment and Music Business will present its annual Best of the Best Showcase. The show will honor Donna Hilley, first recipient of the Robert E. Mulloy Award of Excellence, an annual award to be given to an individual who has achieved a level of excellence in the music business and entertainment industries with notable service to Belmont University and the Nashville community. As longtime CEO of Sony/ATV Nashville, Donna established herself as one of the top female executives in Music City, and during her service on Belmont’s Board of Trustees, she introduced Mike Curb to Belmont, sparking the expansion and growth of the music business program into a free standing college.
The Best of the Best Showcase, which begins at 6:30 p.m., will include tribute performances by legendary singer/songwriters Tom Douglas and Leslie Satcher and country music’s Lee Ann Womack as well as an announcement of the establishment of an endowed scholarship in Hilley’s honor. As always, Best of the Best will also highlight some of Belmont’s remarkable student talent with performances from the winners of the CEMB Showcase series—Future (Urban/Pop), Stephen Whitfield (Christian), Jenna Basso (Country) and The Hollywood Ten (Rock)—and from the ASCAP Writers’ Night series–Stephanie Lambring, Brooke Annibale, Matt Wright, Josh Johnson, Chase Foster and Lindley Wolfgram.
Best of the Best is free to the public and is sponsored by ATT The Real Yellow Pages, ASCAP, BMI, Bandit Lites, Clair Audio and Orange Thread Media. For more information on this event, visit

Related Articles