IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeAchieversBelmont Hosts Tennessee Academy of Science Middle Division Collegiate Meeting

Belmont Hosts Tennessee Academy of Science Middle Division Collegiate Meeting

TAS-2014-Zoology-Session-winners-with-Belmont-StudentsBelmont University’s School of Sciences hosted this year’s Tennessee Academy of Science (TAS) Middle Division Collegiate Annual Meeting, on April 12.  Dr. Duane Hatch, of the Chemistry Department, coordinated this event. There were 30 undergraduate students that presented their research. They were from Belmont, Tennessee State University, University of the South (Sewanee), Rhodes College, Volunteer State Community College and Austin Peay State University.  There were five different sessions: chemistry, zoology, cell biology, math and computer science and environmental science. The following Belmont students won awards:

  • Lee McGill, chemistry, second place
  • Emily Mason, zoology, first place
  • Valini Ramcharan, zoology, second place
  • Morgan Arrants, cell biology, second place

Several Belmont School of Science faculty serve as judges and moderators, including Darlene Panvini, John Niedzwiecki, Robert Grammer, Lori McGrew, Rachel Rigsby, Justin Stace and Danny Biles.

The Tennessee Academy of Science seeks to promote scientific research and the diffusion of knowledge concerning science; to secure communication between persons engaged in scientific work, especially in Tennessee; to assist by investigation and discussion in developing and making known the material, educationaland other resource and riches of the state; to arrange and prepare for publication such reports of investigations and discussions as they further the aims and objectives of the academy.

Related Articles