IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeAchieversBelmont Honors Students Attend Nashville Honors College Consortium

Belmont Honors Students Attend Nashville Honors College Consortium

Honors College students from Belmont, Fisk, Lipscomb and Tennessee State Universities recently met at TSU for the first meeting of the Nashville Honors College Consortium and leadership workshop. Dr. Jonathan Thorndike, director of Belmont’s Honors Program, organized the meeting in collaboration with Dean of the TSU Honors College Dr. Coreen Jackson and Belmont Faculty Member Dr. Beverly Schneller.

The Honors College directors discussed the advantages of programs for students and their philosophy of leadership. The students met to discuss ideas for future projects including social events, service events, cultural events, case studies workshops and panel discussions. Students discussed ideas for a future service events to help with the Walk for Cervical Cancer, volunteer for disaster assistance work groups and communicate on future Nashville-wide collaborative programs.

Director of the Fisk Honors College Dr. Patrick Fleming said, “As the first in a series of collaborations between Honors Programs at TSU, Belmont, Lipscomb and Fisk, we couldn’t have asked for a better event than the leadership symposium hosted by Dr. Jackson and Dr. Miller at TSU on September 16. Students from all four programs came together to develop their leadership skills, and benefited immensely from the experience…Everyone involved was impressed and looks forward to future endeavors.”

Pictured above are Sarah Everett, junior journalism major (front row, left); Miriam Turner, junior music therapy junior (front row, second from left); Steven Metrejean, sophomore music business major (second row, 3rd from left) and Dylan Arndt, junior music business major (back row, left). All are members of Belmont’s Honors Program and the Honors Student Council leadership team. Also pictured above are Dr. Jackson, Director of the Lipscomb Honors College Dr. Paul Prill, Associate Director of the TSU Honors College Dr. Tyrone Miller and Director of the Fisk Honors College Dr. Patrick Fleming.

Related Articles