IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeAchieversAwalt and Osborn Honored as Faculty Emeriti

Awalt and Osborn Honored as Faculty Emeriti

Awalt_Osborn_Retirement.jpgOn April 27, the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Humanities and the Department of Philosophy hosted a reception in honor of two retiring faculty members: Dr. Mike Awalt and Dr. Ginger Osborn. Both professors are becoming faculty emeriti of Philosophy after many years of distinguished service to Belmont University.
Mike Awalt joined the Belmont faculty in 1970 and received the Chaney Distinguished Professor Award in 1985; the Ernest Boyer International Award for Excellence in Teaching, Learning and Technology, in 1997; and the Case Tennessee Professor of the Year in 2000.
Ginger Osborn joined the Belmont faculty as an Adjunct Professor in 1986 and became a full-time faculty member in 1990. She was the 1996 recipient of the Chaney Distinguished Professor Award. Her work in classical philosophy on friendship has been widely recognized, as has her translation of Plato’s dialogue, Lysis.
These two esteemed faculty members have more than 65 years of service to Belmont.

Related Articles