IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeAchieversAET Students take Top Honors at AES 145th International Convention

AET Students take Top Honors at AES 145th International Convention

Belmont’s undergraduate and graduate audio engineering students won top honors in research and music production at the 2018 International Audio Engineering Society conference in New York.

Professor of Audio Engineering Technology Dr. Wes Bulla and recent master’s of audio engineering graduate Paul Mayo were awarded “Best Peer-Reviewed Paper” for innovative research on how loudspeaker placement interacts with sense of elevation.

In the student recording competition, two student teams won first and second place in the Traditional Studio Recording category. Russell Scarborough, with his collaborators Cameron Row and Max Ingersol, received the Gold Award for their Jazz/Pop recording of “Bad Bad News. Hannah Wright with her team Rocco Fiorentino, Adam Krulewicz and Reggie Ecklund received the Silver Award for the Modern/Country recording of “Thoughts of You.”

This year continues a five-year streak for the AET program with awards across multiple categories, including Sound for Visual Media (2017 Silver and 2016 Bronze, Kerrick Crace), Modern Studio Recording & Electronic Music (2015 Silver, Nick Lobel), Traditional Studio Recording (2014 Gold, Cory Wilhite) and an Honorable Mention for Modern Studio Recording (2014, David Villa).

Related Articles