IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeCampus Life2019 Student Leadership Awards Event Recognizes Outstanding Student Leaders

2019 Student Leadership Awards Event Recognizes Outstanding Student Leaders

Last week 250 Belmont students, faculty, staff and friends gathered for the 2019 Campus-Wide Student Leadership Awards. This student-led event was held in the Maddox Grand Atrium and honored students, faculty and staff from every year, academic college and major.

As guests entered on the blue carpet, they were greeted with cheers from Bruiser and student leaders in the Belmont Office of Leadership Development (BOLD). Attendees enjoyed an open atmosphere with free food, gifts bags and music from Belmont’s own DJ Lion. Everyone enjoyed being photographed with friends and jumping in photo booths spread throughout the atrium. The event was another fulfillment of the Vision 2020 plan to centralize leadership development across campus and an amazing opportunity to recognize students, faculty and staff for their leadership and outstanding contributions to Belmont. 

“It was one of Belmont’s most inclusive leadership award events to date as it honored Belmont’s belief that every student can learn and practice leadership,” said Assistant Dean and Director of Leadership Development Dr. Adrianne Archie. “Belmont believes in leadership development for all.”

The 21 award categories received 130 nominations as individuals were nominated for their ability to uphold the standards and principles of Belmont University while also demonstrating outstanding leadership in their student organization, academic college or department. Students from across campus were involved in making the event happen as the Theatre Department scripted and hosted the evening, while students from the O’More School of Design, the Public Relations department and Global Leadership Studies decorated the space. Motion Pictures students created promotional videos and filmed the event, and students in BOLD helped create the vision for the event and served as hosts.

The night concluded with the Leaders Lounge where nominees and award recipients were invited for further celebration of their dedication and success along with a live jazz band, food and prizes.

A complete list of award winners can be found below, and photos from the evening can be viewed on the Belmont online photo gallery.

Award Categories and Specific Award Names Recipent(s)
Student Affairs (General)
Tower Award Dr. Jeremy Fyke
Bruin Awards Tayviana Scott
Declan McManus
Aubrey Keller
Kristina Sullivan
Thea Wilkens-Reed
Abbie Whitehurst
Hunter Lindsey
Cynthia Klauber
Meredith Edwards
Landon Wolford
Miriam Turner
Elisabeth Bordulis
BOLD Levels
Aspiring Leader Award Tate Pierson
Alex Moudy
Jack Mischnick
Erica Olfson
Emergent Leader Award: In Honor of Dr. Andrew Johnston Kevin Botros
Walker Renfrow
Christopher Moore
Ashley Taylor Gurwell
BOLD Pinning
Greek Life
Outstanding Chapter of the Year Alpha Gamma Delta
Greek of the Year Cynthia Klauber
Outstanding Chapter President of the Year Mary Katelyn Price
Student Organizations and Activities
Student Organization of the Year Best Buddies
Outstanding New Student Organization Belmont Engineering, Architecture and Robotics Club (BEAR)
Student Organization Advisor of the Year Dr. Qingjun Li (Joan)
Member of the Year Awards (all student orgs) SEE ADDED TAB
Colleges and Offices/Departments Top Leaders: Presented in Office and Departments then Colleges
Office of Career & Professional Development Professionalism Award Ben Thomas
Allyssa Hairfield
University Ministries Longevity Award Sean Grossnickle
Admissions Student Worker of the Year Clayton Walker
College of Pharmacy Student Leadership Award Tyler Merritt
College of Law Student Leadership Award Lexie Ward
College of Health Sciences & Nursing Student Leadership Award Austin Levi Blazer
Curb College Student Leadership Award Dominique Detwiler
Jack C. Massey College of Business Student Leadership Award Grace Pritchard
College of Visual and Performing Arts Joe Mobley
Fitness and Recreation
Mr. Beaman Ryan Puttbach
Miss Beaman Taylor Davidson
Residence Life
Distinguished Service Awards Shelby Gebb
Emily Tomsovic
Miriam Turner
Hillary Talken
Elisabeth Bordulis
Koby Langner

Related Articles