Belmont Vision Wins Nine Awards From Tennessee Associated Press Journalism Competition

group photo of Vision staff
Previous Group Photo of the Belmont Vision staff winning the SEJC on-site competition

The Tennessee Associated Press recognized The Belmont Vision with nine awards this year, including first place for best college news website. The staff of The Belmont Vision won three first place awards, three second place awards and three third place awards across a variety of categories recognizing many student reporters.

“We have an incredibly talented group of students,” said instructor of media studies and The Belmont Vision faculty adviser Dorren Robinson. “They create professional-level work every day. I am so pleased that their work is recognized by the Associated Press.” 

Under the director of former editors Joe Bendekovic and Bronte Lebo, The Belmont Vision won first place for its website. Steven Boero and Abigail Bowen won first place for TV Sports Coverage/Program. Caitlin Alexander and Ben Sherrill won first place in the Television Reporter category. 

In TV Specialized/Topic Reporting, Marissa Avnaim won second place. Abigail Bowen, Madison Bowen and Justin Wagner won second place for TV Feature Story. In the Videographer category, Abigail Bowel won second place. 

Steven Boero won third place for Online Sports Reporting. In the TV Sports Reporting category, Caitlin Alexander and Ben Sherrill won third place. Abigail Bowen won third place for TV Newscast.