IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeAchieversBelmont Student Leadership Awards Recognize Everyday Champions  

Belmont Student Leadership Awards Recognize Everyday Champions  

More than 72 student leaders, staff and faculty members were recognized for their leadership and service at the 2023 Belmont Student Leadership Awards (BSLA), hosted by the Division of Student Formation on April 12.  

The event’s “Everyday Champions” theme was inspired by the university’s focus on being radical champions for all. The BSLA Committee shared, “the theme emphasizes our culture where every student can be a leader and we can all be champions. Leaders don’t need a formal title or particular status to have a positive impact on the world. Everyday champions show up, use their voice and lead with character, purpose, wisdom and a transformational mindset.”   

Each Belmont academic college, office and department highlighted the efforts and accomplishments of undergraduate and graduate students, along with select employee recognitions.     

Bruin Award 

Ten students were presented with the Bruin Award, the highest honor bestowed by the Division for Student Formation. The award recognizes junior and senior students who have exemplified Belmont’s aspirational aims by consistently engaging in campus life and demonstrating outstanding service to the campus community through significant participation in campus leadership. 

Bruin Award recipients: 

  • Lucy Battaglia 
  • Phoebe Connell 
  • Chasity Donald 
  • Justice Dudley 
  • Sondos El-Hulu 
  • DJ Needs 
  • Morgen Wilkes 
  • Kendal Cliburn 
  • Dallas Pritchard 
  • Nardien Sakik 

Emergent Leader Award 

The Emergent Leader Award recognizes up-and-coming leaders with freshman or sophomore status currently in leadership positions. Emergent leaders are awarded due to their significant contributions toward the flourishing of people and communities in their organization. 

Emergent Leader Award recipients: 

  • Nick Benefield 
  • Addison Janowaik 
  • Brett Payne 
  • Caelyn Rolle 
  • Olivia Upton 

Aspiring Leader Award 

The Aspiring Leader Award recognizes up-and-coming leaders with freshman or sophomore status not currently in leadership positions. Aspiring Leaders are awarded due to their demonstrated desire and potential to significantly contribute toward the flourishing of people and communities in their organization.  

Aspiring Leader Award recipients: 

  • Michal Tolman 
  • Meagan Boots 
  • Pacifique Niyomugabo 
  • Savannah Orris 
  • Mia Scherer 

Student Organization Member of the Year Award 

The Student Organization Member of the Year Award recognizes students who have exemplified a commitment to the values of the Belmont community through actively serving in their student organizations.  

Student Organization Member of the Year Award recipients: 

  • Carter Barnett, BUD Ministries 
  • Chasity Donald, Intervarsity 
  • Maddie McGovern, Kappa Alpha Theta 
  • Johnson Phung, Chess Club 
  • Nardien Sadik, Orthodox Chrisitan Campus Ministries 
  • Elizabeth Trbovic, Service Corps 

Additional student awards from the various offices across campus were also recognized.  

Residence Life Distinguished Service Award 

  • Samantha Urban 
  • Sydney Giles 
  • Marcus Knight 
  • Avery Ancelet 
  • DJ Needs 
  • Emma Leonard 

University Ministries Engaged Leader Award 

  • Hope Dennis 
  • Gretchen Henry 
  • Chasity Donald 
  • Sydney Mulcrone 

 Belmont College of Pharmacy: College Leadership Award 

  • Nancy Henin 

Office of Admissions: Student Worker of the Year  

  • Libby Godo 
  • Gabe Degraeve 

Office of Student Engagement – Student Government Association: Outstanding Senator 

  • Aaron Kleinschmidt 

Office of Service-Learning: Outstanding Leader in Community Engagement 

  • Eleri Hadaway 

Career & Professional Development: Professionalism Award  

  • Alex Ann Heim 
  • Evelyn Shrader 

Greek Life awards were also presented: 

  • Lindsey Edwards, Kappa Alpha Theta – Outstanding Chapter President of the Year 
  • Maddie Calder, Alpha Gamma Delta – Fraternity/sorority Member of the Year 
  • Charlotte Harrison, Phi Mu – Outstanding New Member of the Year 
  • Outstanding Chapter of the Year – Alpha Gamma Delta 

Student Organization of the Year Award 

The Student Organization of the Year Award recognizes the organization that most fully lives out leadership in service to others. 

  • Belmont’s Chess Club 

New Student Organization of the Year Award 
The New Student Organization of the Year Award recognizes an organization that was founded during the 2022-2023 academic year. The organization that receives this award will have demonstrated a commitment to Belmont’s mission statement and will have embraced hope and inclusivity while impacting the Belmont community through presence and involvement in student programs and activities. 

  • American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS)  

Staff/ Faculty awards 

Two employee awards were presented. Advisor for the Belmont Film Society Nancy Roche received the Student Organization Advisor of the Year Award, and Beth Bowman received the Tower Award. 

Staff in the Belmont Office of Leadership Development (BOLD), Residence Life, University Ministries and the Office of Career and Professional Development collaborated on this event to celebrate the abundance of student leaders on campus and show appreciation to individuals by publicly presenting them with awards.    

View a gallery of pictures from the event here. 

Related Articles