Belmont Faculty, Alumni Nominated for 2020 Dove Awards

James Elliot Holding Guitar
James Elliot, Belmont Songwriting Chair

Belmont University’s James Isaac Elliott, Drew Ramsey, Rachel Hale, Emily Weisband, and Cindy Morgan are represented in this year’s 2020 Dove Award Nominations. 

Steven Curtis Chapman’s A Great Adventure, LIVE Solo Performances of Timeless Hits is nominated for Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album of the Year and includes “My Redeemer Is Faithful and True,” co-written by Steven Curtis Chapman and James Isaac Elliott, Belmont’s Songwriting Chair. Chapman’s album is also nominated for Long Form Video of the Year.

Gloria Gaynor’s album Testimony is nominated for Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album of the Year which includes “He Won’t Let Go,” co-written by Belmont Songwriting Instructor Drew Ramsey, Gloria Gaynor and Shannon Sanders. “He Won’t Let Go” is nominated for Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year. 

Selah’s album Firm Foundation has been nominated for Inspirational Album of the Year, which includes “Firm Foundation” co-written by Belmont songwriting alumna Rachel Hale and commercial music alumna Piper Jones.

“Dead Man Walking,” co-written by Belmont alumna Emily Weisband, Jeremy Camp and Jordan Sapp, has been nominated for Song of the Year. The single has also been nominated for Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year. 

Belmont Adjunct Songwriting Professor Cindy Morgan received a nomination for Instrumental Album of the Year with “Tune My Heart” by Andrew Greer & Friends.