IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeAchieversDebate Team Hauls in Numerous Awards

Debate Team Hauls in Numerous Awards

The Belmont Debate team has nearly finished its 2007-2008 season, and with one national tournament left to attend, the season has been filled with awards. Most recently, the debate program was ranked 36th in the nation out of the 245 ranked teams, and in early March Belmont hosted the National Christian College Forensics Invitational (the national speech/debate tournament for Christian colleges). Specific awards from this tournament included:
George Shifflett/Renee Reyle: 2nd place overall debate team
Sarah Friederich: 6th place overall open debate speaker
Price Rainer: 14th overall open debate speaker
Wesley Rainer: 1st place overall speaker JV debate division
Caroline Tenenbaum: 11th place overall speaker JV debate division
Impromptu Speaking: Tabitha Metcalf (semi-finalist), Melanie Bengtson (4th place)
Faith Literature: Tabitha Metcalf (5th place)
Novice Faith Literature: Kelli Mehlhaf (5th place)
Extemporaneous Speaking: Price Rainer (2nd place), Melanie Bengtson (1st place)
Novice Extemporaneous Speaking: Wesley Rainer (5th place), Caroline Tenenbaum (4th place)
Persuasive Speaking: George Shifflett (2nd place)
Dramatic Interpretation: George Shifflett (3rd place)

These successes followed the incredible success of our team at the Tennessee state speech/debate tournament. Most noteably winning the first place debate team award, but also having the first place novice and open debate teams at the tournament. Complete awards are as follows:
Varsity Debate:
Sarah Friederich & Price Rainer – 1st Place Team (undefeated throughout the tournament)
Meghan Gwaltney & Melanie Bengtson – semi-finalists
Renee Reyle & George Shifflett – quarter-finalists
Sarah Friederich – 6th place individual speaker
George Shifflett – 3th place individual speaker
Meghan Gwaltney – 2nd place individual speaker
Novice Debate:
Wesley Rainer & Caroline Tenenbaum – 1st Place Team
David Grizzell – 4th place individual speaker
Wesley Rainer – 3rd place individual speaker
Caroline Tenenbaum – 2rd place individual speaker
Individual Events
Extemporaneous speaking:
Meghan Gwaltney – 6th place
Melanie Bengtson – 4th place
George Shifflett – 1st place
Persuasive Speaking:
George Shifflett – 4th place
Impromptu Speaking:
Tabitha Metcalf – 6th place
Informative Speaking:
Meghan Gwaltney – 2nd place
Communication Analysis:
Daniel Chioco – 7th place
Dramatic Interpretation:
Tabitha Metcalf – 6th place

Related Articles