IMPORTANT NOTE: These are the archived stories for Belmont News & Achievements prior to June 26, 2023. To see current stories, click here.

HomeSpecial EventsBelmont University Hosts CMT Music Awards Second Year In a Row

Belmont University Hosts CMT Music Awards Second Year In a Row

redcarpet.jpgThe 2007 CMT Music Awards were held in the Curb Event Center at Belmont University Monday, April 16. This is the second year in the row Belmont hosted the live awards show. Winners of the 2007 awards included Carrie Underwood, Kenny Chesney, Taylor Swift, Jack Ingram, Rascal Flatts and Sugarland. Roseanne Cash recognized Kris Kristofferson with the Johnny Cash Visionary Award.
Rascal Flatts, Sugarland, Hank Williams, Jr., Carrie Underwood, Bon Jovi, Kenny Chesney, Dierks Bentley, Toby Keith and Martina McBride performed live during the telecast. Keith Urban performed live via satellite from Sydney, Australia.
Comedian Jeff Foxworthy hosted the CMT Music Awards for the third year in a row. He was joined on stage by presenters Barbara Mandrell, Big & Rich, Blake Shelton, Gretchen Wilson, Jason Aldean, NASCAR driver Jeff Burton, Belmont alum Josh Turner, Kellie Pickler, Lance Smith, LeAnn Rimes, Melissa Peterman, Miranda Lambert, Randy Owens of Alabama, Rodney Carrington, Ron White, Ross “the Intern” Mathews, Stone Cold Steve Austin, Taylor Kitsch and Taylor Swift.
rascalflatts.jpgFor the second year in a row, CMT simulcast the awards live online at and on CMT Radio, making the broadcast available to nearly 150 CMT radio affiliates. In addition, exclusive content can be seen on and its broadband channel CMT Loaded, on CMT Mobile and on URGE, MTV Network’s digital music service. MHD: Music High Definition, MTV Networks’ high-definition channel, also simulcasted the 2007 CMT MUSIC AWARDS in HD. CMT will later bow the awards on its digital all-music channel, CMT Pure Country.
CMT will re-telecast the 2007 CMT Music Awards on Monday, April 16, at 10:30 p.m., ET/PT; Tuesday, April 17, at 2 p.m. and 9 p.m., ET/PT; Thursday, April 19, at 8 p.m., ET/PT; Friday, April 20, at 10 p.m., ET/PT; Saturday, April 21, at 4:30 p.m., ET/PT; Sunday, April 22, at 1:30 p.m. and 7 p.m., ET/PT.

Related Articles