Angie Bryant Named 2019 Gabhart Award Recipient

Angie Bryant with Family Members and Susan West
Angie Bryant poses with family members and Dr. Susan West after being recognized the 2019 Gabhart Award Winner.

Assistant Dean of Student Support Services and long-time Belmont employee Angie Bryant was named the 2019 Gabhart Award Recipient at Belmont’s annual Staff Christmas Breakfast, held on Thursday, December 5 in the Maddox Grand Atrium. Named in honor of the late Dr. Herbert C. Gabhart, who served Belmont selflessly for 50 years as president and chancellor, the Gabhart Award is the highest honor presented to a staff person and honors a member of the Belmont community who demonstrates significant achievements, commitment and service to the University.

Bryant came to Belmont in June of 1993. Over the past 26 years, she has been instrumental in creating and contributing to the student experience at Belmont. The fit-rec program was largely created by her vision and leadership. Literally thousands of students have had their physical health improved by the creative and innovative programming she created by making wellness a central part of, not only the student experience, but also the university conversation. Bryant also provides exceptional care to the students she encounters through her work in the Student Concerns area.

One colleague who nominated Bryant for the award stated, “Despite new and challenging responsibilities, Angie remains a woman of profound faith that she readily incorporates into the work and life she leads. She is a great example of a person trying to live a life modeled after Christ as an example… very similar to the life exemplified by Dr. Gabhart.”

This year’s Gabhart Award finalist was Nanci Alsup who works with the Belmont Teaching Center. Past Gabhart Award winners include Don Purdy, Betty Wiseman, Sarah Cates, Gary Hunter, Joan Eakin, Bonnie Wagonfield, Anthony Donovan and Greg Pillon.